Appendix 1: Reference group biographies

Auditor-General’s mid-term review.

Sir John Clarke (Ngāti Porou and Ngā Puhi)

Sir John has worked in a wide range of environments in the public sector, including education, justice, health, human rights, Crown law, social welfare, environment, and heritage.

Sir John has played a major part in Māori-Crown relations and been the principal cultural adviser to all Ministers of Treaty Settlements for more than 25 years. He has held numerous senior management positions in the public sector, including Chief Executive of the then Ministry of Māori Affairs and Group Manager Department of Justice. He has also served as Race Relations Conciliator and Human Rights Commissioner.

Sir John is the former principal of Ngata Memorial College and Wellington High and Community Institute. He was involved in implementing te reo Māori in secondary schools from 1971 to 1977.

Sir John has conducted eight major inquiries as a member of the Waitangi Tribunal. He is currently chairperson of the Māori Heritage Council and principal adviser to the Asthma and Respiratory Foundation and Pharmacy Council. He is a Trustee of Te Rimu Ahuwhenua Trust and Tokararangi Forest Trust. Sir John is a former recipient of the Sir Woolf Fisher Fellowship and was made Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2018.

Sir Maarten Wevers

Sir Maarten is a former New Zealand diplomat and public servant who served as New Zealand's High Commissioner to Papua New Guinea and Ambassador to Japan. He was the Chief Executive of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet from 2004 to 2012.

Sir Maarten has held several governance roles. Between 2013 and 2018, he was the Chairman of the Board of the Earthquake Commission, and he is currently the Deputy Chair of the Fred Hollows Foundation of New Zealand. He has also served as Registrar of Pecuniary and Other Specified Interests of Members of Parliament since 2013.

Sir Maarten was made a Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2012.

Margaret Devlin

Margaret is a professional director operating primarily within the infrastructure sector, with a particular focus on audit, risk, diversity, and inclusion.

Margaret is Chair of Watercare Services Limited, Lyttelton Port Company Limited, Infrastructure NZ, and Hospice Waikato. She is a Director of Waikato Regional Airport Limited, London Green Limited, Dairy NZ Limited, and Waimea Water Limited. Until 30 June 2022, she was also a Director of Aurora Energy Limited.

Margaret has extensive experience in governance and executive management in New Zealand and the United Kingdom, primarily in the water and infrastructure sectors.

Margaret is a Chartered Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Directors.

Grant Hehir

Grant Hehir is the Auditor-General for Australia. Grant started his term as Auditor-General on 11 June 2015.

Before his appointment as Auditor-General for Australia, Grant served as the Auditor-General for New South Wales between November 2013 and June 2015. He worked for the State Government of Victoria between 1998 and 2013 in several senior roles, including as Secretary of the Department of Treasury and Finance, and the Department of Education and Training.

He is a fellow of CPA Australia and the Institute of Public Administration Australia.