Appendix 1: Summary of the public organisations we audit, as at March 2022

Draft annual plan 2022/23.
Organisation categories Number of organisations
Local authorities 78
Airports (including related entities) 24
Energy companies (including related entities) 36
Port companies (including related entities) 18
Other council-controlled organisations1 144
Licensing and community trusts (including related entities) 29
Cemetery trustees 1
Other local government organisations2 62
Total local government 392
Financial Statements of the Government 1
Government departments (including related entities) 56
State-owned enterprises and mixed-ownership companies (including related entities) 34
Crown research institutes (including related entities) 13
District health boards (including related entities) 39
Schools (including related entities) 2479
Tertiary education institutions (including related entities and Workforce Development Councils)3 64
Other Crown entities4 89
Administering bodies5 38
Fish and game councils (including related entities)6 15
Other central government organisations7 115
Rural Education Activities Programmes 14
Total central government 2957
Government of Niue (including related entities) 9
Government of Tokelau (including related entities) 2
Public Audit Act section 19 audits8 2
Total 3362

1: These are council-controlled organisations as defined in the Local Government Act 2002 (other than those that are airports, energy companies, or port companies).

2: These are related to local authorities but are not council-controlled organisations – for example, organisations exempted from being council-controlled organisations under the Local Government Act.

3: On 4 October 2021, six Workforce Development Councils were established through the Reform of Vocational Education.

4: These are statutory Crown organisations (Crown agents, autonomous Crown organisations, and independent Crown organisations) listed in Schedule 1 of the Crown Entities Act 2004 and Crown entity companies listed in Schedule 2 of the Crown Entities Act.

5: These are administering bodies and reserves boards listed in Schedule 4 of the Public Finance Act 1989.

6: These are the New Zealand Fish and Game Council, 12 regional fish and game councils, the New Zealand Game Bird Habitat Trust Board, and the Game Animal Council, all listed in Schedule 4 of the Public Finance Act.

7: These are other central government organisations that do not have their own specific category. The majority are statutory organisations established under specific legislation, as well as other organisations listed in Schedule 4 of the Public Finance Act that are not categorised as reserve boards or fish and game councils.

8: These are entities audited under an arrangement in accordance with section 19 of the Public Audit Act 2001.